a soft breath of anonymity

To San Franciscans ‘the City That Knows How’ was the Bay, the fog, Sir Francis Drake Hotel, Top o’ the Mark, Chinatown, the Sunset District and so on and so forth and so white. To me, a thirteen-year-old Black girl, stalled by the South and Southern Black life style, the city was a state of beauty and a state of freedom. The fog wasn’t simply the steamy vapors off the bay caught and penned in by hills, but a soft breath of anonymity that shrouded and cushioned the bashful traveler.

Currently reading I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, as part of my summer of exploring modern American literature with my little sister.

3 responses to “a soft breath of anonymity

  1. What a nice idea! I also like to immerse myself into one direction of reading. What other authors of modern American literature have you tried so far? What would you recommend?

    • I read quite a lot of modern American literature when I was in school (Hemingway, Faulkner, Fitzgerald), along with German, English, and French literature. Nevertheless, I felt like I missed out on some pillars of American literature. My sister and I were talking about it, she was shocked that I had never read ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’ and I couldn’t believe that she had never read ‘On the Road’. We decided to read through some classics together. So far, Catch 22, Fahrenheit 451, and I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. I would highly recommend the latter two. Next on the list are The Age of Innocence, The Beautiful and the Damned, and To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s my first try at genre reading, usually my reading list is all over the place, but I am really enjoying it so far!

  2. Sounds very interesting. I have to admit I haven’t read a lot of American literature. So far books by Hemingway, Auchincloss and the new book from Towles. I definitely want to read more. Maybe I start with one of the modern ones you mentioned. I will write how I liked them. Greetings from Berlin, Toni

Leave a Reply

