the search for a cake

If you have read small sight for a while, you probably know that I love baking. The best part being the eating of baked goods, naturally. Since I first started experimenting with baking, I have been successful with many recipes and failed with many others – learning a thing or two in the process.

I learned that melting butter does not make anything easier. I learned that baking soda and baking powder produce two distinct results and mistaking one for the other only creates disaster. And I learned to trust my instincts when it comes to measurements.

Given my love for baking, I have decided to bake our wedding cake. With about 1.5 months until the big day, I plan to try several cakes over the next weeks and, with the help of my unsuspecting colleagues, determine a winner. Vanilla bean cake? Buttercream frosting? Chocolate raspberry filling? What is your favorite type of cake?

Photo sources: cake buffet, cake 1, cake 2, cake 3, cake 4, cake 5

7 responses to “the search for a cake

  1. All of those cakes are so lovely. My favorite of all time is a sweet almond cake with fresh whipped cream! Good luck with the wedding planning, I can’t even imagine how exciting/stressful that can be 🙂

    • Ah, almond cake is a great suggestion! I will definitely add that to the list. Since everything is quite simple and low-key, there hasn’t been the usual stress thus far – I hope it stays that way. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Perhaps not a traditional wedding cake but it’s one of my favorites! A lemon poppyseed cake with lemon cream, http://alwayswithbutter.blogspot.com/2011/07/lemon-poppy-seed-cake-with-lemon-cream.html

  3. Carly, we have not been in touch for a while, but recently I discovered your fantastic blog and the wonderful news aboout your engagement and marriage. Congratulations.
    I could not remain silent on the cake matter, being a Hungarian blessed with the most wonderful cakes on Earth.
    My personal favourite right now is Eszterházy torta, which surly you tried back than.
    Good luck with it!

    • Thank you Zsófia! The German lessons were worth it 🙂 Thank you also for the tip, I found a recipe for Esterházy torte and will add it to the baking list. I am not sure if I tried this cake in Budapest, but I do recall trying it and thinking it was delicious. I hope you are well and enjoying success with your art business. If you’re ever in Amsterdam, let me know!

  4. mmmmm! Thats so nice that you’re making your own. I want to be one of your colleagues so I can taste them all! I love carrot cake.

  5. you can never go wrong with vanilla and fresh fruit filling!

Leave a comment