Snowdonia, Wales

The sunny weather stayed with us as we drove to North Wales on a narrow road, barricaded on each side by stone walls. I distracted myself from the terrifying proximity of oncoming vehicles by taking in the dramatic landscape and countless sheep grazing on the hillsides. We stopped for afternoon tea at Pont Yr Afon Gam Cafe, surrounded only by sheep, a stone bridge, and a swift-moving creek (images 2 and 9).

Our destination was the town Betws-y-Coed, nestled in the foothills of Mount Snowdon. We stayed in a Shepherd’s Hut, again right in the middle of nature, with an ideal view for watching the sunsets. The first morning, we discovered Cwmni Cacen Gri (The Welshcake Company) and their delicious assortment of griddled Welshcakes. Another culinary highlight was The Silver Fountain, where I ate my favorite meal of the trip, Welsh style wild rice with roasted tomatoes.  Wales was amazing. One of the many reasons I love to travel is the opportunity to go to new places and discover new things. To put myself in unfamiliar territory in the chance that I might discover something new about the world and myself. It’s the best of places that you long for when you leave and dream about returning to someday very soon.

2 responses to “Snowdonia, Wales

  1. Lovely photos of a completely gorgeous part of the world! We’re in Sicily for the next 2 years and I’d love to get up to the UK while we’re living so close and before we’re back across the pond. We’ll have to see if it happens. I visited Wales so briefly years ago and would love to see more of the countryside that you’ve pictured here!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed them! As you might be able to tell, I was really impressed with Wales and would highly recommend it. We were really lucky with the weather, especially since we spent the majority of our time outdoors. It doesn’t get much better than Italy though!

Leave a Reply

